Pleasing God – A Bible Thought

 In those days Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. 10 And just as he was coming up out of the water, he saw the heavens torn apart and the Spirit descending like a dove on him. 11 And a voice came from heaven, “You are my Son, the Beloved;[a] with you I am well pleased.”

Mark 1:9-11 (NRSV)

Eric Liddell was a famous runner, Olympic Gold Medalist and Christian missionary. In the movie ‘Chariots of Fire’, he is portrayed as saying – ‘God made me to run fast. And when I run I feel his pleasure’

However, we tend to think that we can never please God. Moreover, it is somewhat wrong even to think we could feel his pleasure. But that is to cast God in the false image of a overbearing father who can never be satisfied by what we achieve or even aspire to.

Our reading today reminds us that God was pleased with Christ. And so, by implication, we too can give him pleasure when we use all that we are to be all we can be.  Since, after all, who does not delight in being a proud parent!

Let us pray

Lord, God

Help me be all that I can be

All that Christ wants me to be

and all that you made me

capable of being.

Indeed, let me feel  your smile.

Amen

Leave a Reply

